What’s Your Blood Type?

19 May

After visiting Keio University, we met a lot of great students. We all exchanged info. with them and adding each other on Facebook. After “friending” them, I checked out their pages and noticed that all of them had their blood types in their info. section. It seemed as though this was very important to them because they would be missing information that I thought would be more important such as hometown or birthday. My thoughts were that they included that information in case of emergency and they needed a blood transplant, lol. This really made me curious, but not enough to message any of them to ask. I just saved that as a question I would ask someone later.

A few days later, we had the opportunity to visit and meet the students of Kobe University. We had an opportunity to eat lunch with them and a brief info. exchange before our presentations. I had almost forgot to ask, but something clicked in my head, and I remembered. It is actually pretty interesting. They believe your blood type has a correlation to the type of person you are, here is the breakdown:

Type A: caring, think of others

Type B: selfish

Type A/B: genius

Type O: messy, carefree

I’m not sure if this is just in Japanese tradition, but I checked the pages of my other friends (American) on Facebook and none of them have their blood types listed. I’m learning something new everyday here! Does your blood type describe you?

5 Responses to “What’s Your Blood Type?”

  1. Andrew Beaver May 19, 2011 at 8:41 am #

    Wow, my blood type describes me pretty accurately (messy and carefree).

    I didn’t realize this until you pointed it out but everything you said about the Japanese Facebook profiles is true to a fault. Even when birthday, school, and employment are all missing, blood type will be there. The priorities for listed information are so opposite from the American style.

  2. jaimepeoples May 20, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

    This idea of blood types were really thought provoking to me too! I never noticed that Facebook even had a blood type you could add to your profile until I came to Japan. I definitely didn’t know that they believe that your blood type describes the type of person you may be!

  3. Michael Sanburn May 24, 2011 at 9:01 am #

    That is very interesting I never really noticed the blood type. I would not say that my blood type does not describes me very well (Blood type: A) but there must be some outliers to this characteristic test that I had never heard of before. Then again maybe I am caring and thinking of others subconsciously.

  4. LiveLaughLoveLacole June 12, 2011 at 4:55 am #

    I also found this very interesting. I was sitting next to you when you asked the question. I had no idea that it was so important to them for it to show up in the info about you. Its almost like the zodiac signs in America, and how each sign describe the type of person you are or who you would be compatible with. When we got back to the hotel and I checked my Facebook, it too asked for me to enter in my blood type at the top of the page. I think this is built into the Japan Facebook website, because returning home it does not show up.

    • LiveLaughLoveLacole June 12, 2011 at 4:57 am #

      Also, i am blood type O, and I dont think this matches me, I am the total opposite because I like things organized and orderly. But I did over hear he say that type O’s like to fold papers in half when carrying them, and that I do lol.

Leave a Reply

