My name is Candice and I am an Overpacker!!

15 May

So…after waiting 2+ hours at the airport for everyone to arrive, we were finally on our way to the hotel! I was EXCITED; not only because I was in Japan, but the thought of a cool shower and comfy bed after my days traveling was just what I needed…

Who knew all that we had to go through just to get there!!!

After the flight had landed, I made way to grab my bags. I had my black cross body purse over my left shoulder, and my overfilled red carry-on bag on my right arm. I got down to baggage claim and went to grab my bags. OMGOSH, “wth is wrong with me” were the only thoughts going through my head as I picked them up from the conveyor belt. Why did I pack so much??? So now, I was walking through the airport with my black purse over my shoulder, a 50.5 lb pink roller suitcase, a 49 lb pink roller suitcase, and the overfilled red bag (the 10 lbs from my overweight suitcase had to go somewhere; no extra fees for me!).

I got to the meeting point at around 3p, and I had to wait for Dr. C and the others to get in around 5:30ish. The waiting wasn’t so bad because I finally had a time to rest and get a little sleep. I did not sleep at all from San Francisco to Tokyo, so I was TIRED!

When they finally did arrive, we were on our way! I was not expected the strenuous workout that was soon to come. So there I was with all of my luggage strolling through the airport, not paying much attention to my surroundings or where we were going. I got to the first escalator, and it wasn’t too hard to get all of my bags on, so I wasn’t too worried. A few minutes later, I noticed that I was a bit behind the group, and the whole time I’m thinking “How and why are they walking so freaking fast?” So I started to speed up a little, which was a little hard to do in my flip flops. Sure enough my body heat starts to increase and started sweating a tad bit in my yoga pants, t-shirt, and blue jean jacket. Perfect attire for a run through the airport on a humid day in Japan (70+) pulling two cases of luggage. We were all working up a sweat and I looked around and noticed that most of Japanese people had on long sleeved shirts and we fully covered…but they were not sweating. I was amazed!

I don’t remember exactly how many stations we had to go through, but I will never forget all of the stairs. Being here, I have noticed how far advanced Japan is technology wise, but they forgot a major part. Elevators and escalators in all part of the subway and railway systems!!! So now I had to carry these big suitcases up and down the stairs in a busy station…but that’s not all. Because Japanese people try to be quiet in public areas, Dr. C informed us that we should carry the luggage up and down the stairs rather than drag. OMGOSH again!!!

Finally, after 3 hours of quality time with my luggage, we arrived at the hotel and I have come to the realization that I am an over-packer.

I thought about it, and this is the amount of traveling that most Japanese people do everyday. Of course, minus the luggage. The subway system is very popular here, and it is not uncommon for someone to travel 2 hrs. each way everyday for work or school.

 

8 Responses to “My name is Candice and I am an Overpacker!!”

  1. Naudia May 16, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

    Candy Cane, the title of your blog sounds a little risque.

    • Candice Whiteside May 16, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

      lol, what else can an overpacker mean?

      • Anonymous May 19, 2011 at 11:45 am #

        I meant the “Candice takes Japan” part.

    • Candice Whiteside May 20, 2011 at 4:15 am #

      hahahahahahaha! Get your mind out of the gutter…shame on you!

  2. Danielle May 17, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    Did your fellow classmates think you were crazy for packing that much stuff for a two week trip? Or did they know you were staying for two months? You’re so crazy Candy…I hope you’re having FUN FUN FUN! How did your first presentation go? Or have you not had it yet?

    • Candice Whiteside May 19, 2011 at 6:59 am #

      lol, I had to get some help from them along the way. They didn’t know then, and I still don’t think many of them know now. They probably just think I’m a diva, lol. I had two presentations already, and now I am done. I think they were good, I’m going to do a blog about them.

    • Candice Whiteside May 19, 2011 at 7:00 am #

      P.S. I miss you guys!!!

      • Danielle May 19, 2011 at 11:45 am #

        WE MISS YOU TOOOOO! Come back soooooooon!!!

Leave a Reply

